Quick and Dirty Reviews for May 2012: Books Rating 3/5 Stars

The Discovery of Socket Greeny by Tony Bertauski
Genre: Young Adult SciFi
Ages: 14 and up
Published: July 13, 2010 by Bertauski

This book was previously reviewed. Please click here to read the post.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Paranormal Romance
Ages: 18 and up
Published: March 2, 2010 by Hyperion Books

Sophie Mercer, raised by her completely mortal Mom, has only recently found out she is a witch. She has no idea how to control her powers, which is why she is exiled to Hecate Hall, a school for “prodigium” (ie., witches, fairies and shapeshifters) that have not been able to control their skills. Once there, she learns more about her past (her absentee father is well-known by everyone), rooms with the school’s only (and disliked) vampire, makes an enemy of the school’s most popular clique and develops a mighty crush on school’s most popular girl’s boyfriend. Once a ghost starts following her and mysterious attacks start happening, how can Sophie corral her powers to help?

I didn’t expect this book to be so good. I assumed that it was going to be a superficial series with no depth. I was wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I read the second volume immediately after.

Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Romance
Ages: 13 and up
Published: July 13, 2010 by Scholastic Press

***MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS AS THIS IS THE SECOND BOOK IN THE SERIES***

Nothing could be better; Sam’s fever has burned the wolf out of him and he and Grace can be together forever. Grace’s normally inattentive parents have other ideas, though. They don’t like the seriousness of Grace and Sam’s relationship, and once Sam is discovered at night in Grace’s room, he becomes persona non grata in the house. Sam feels the need to look out for his wolf family and figure out what he can about the added members. Cole is one of the newbies, and he brings a lot of baggage to his new existence – as well as the possibility of unwanted attention to the pack. Then when Grace becomes ill, she questions whether her “reprieve” from turning into a wolf is coming back to haunt her.

Loved the first in the series very much. You can see the review for Shiver here. Linger is good, too, but not as fulfilling. Sometimes I wonder if I don’t like the second as well as the first because I already know the secret? Or is it my bridge vs. layer question (see the review for Until I Die below). In any case, the book is as haunting as the first, especially the ending. It certainly leaves me excited to read the final volume, Forever.

Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale
Genre: Fiction Romance
Ages: Adult
Published: January 31, 2012 by Bloomsbury USA

This book was previously reviewed. Please click here to read the post.

Until I Die (Revenants #2) by Amy Plum
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Paranormal Romance
Ages: 14 and up
Published: May 8, 2012 by HarperTeen

***MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS AS THIS IS THE SECOND BOOK IN THE SERIES***

Charlotte and Charles have left La Maison so Charles can have a rest, so two newcomers have arrived to take their places. From a medieval castle in the Loire Valley (and the 16th Century), Violette and Arthur join Vincent and the rest of the revenants to try to determine the numa’s next move. The revenants have heard and seen nothing of the numa, which is very strange since Kate killed their leader. Have they disappeared, or are they merely regrouping for an attack? Meanwhile, after a runaway truck almost causes Vincent’s death, Kate realizes that this possibility will be hanging over their heads during her entire existence. Is there any truth to an ancient story that there is a healer who can help the revenant to resist the overpowering urge to die?

As is seems to sometimes happen with sophomore books in a series, that second book serves more as a bridge between volumes than a new tasty layer on top of the original. While I enjoyed both the story and meeting the new characters, the book just wasn’t as compelling and fresh as the first. I truly look forward to reading the third volume in the trilogy, If I Should Die, which should be out in May 2013.

Whispering Hills by Taryn Browning
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Paranormal Romance
Ages: 14 and up
Published: January 31, 2012 by Bloomsbury USA

This book was previously reviewed. Please click here to read the post.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Quick and Dirty Reviews for May 2012: Books Rating 3/5 Stars”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *